top of page
Writer's pictureMrs. Deborah Fagnan

Halloween DIY Storytime

This program will do well with school aged children or preschool children with the help of a parent. There is prep work that should be done to make this craft go smoothly. I got this idea based on the book, A Piece of Chalk by Jennifer A. Kericsson.


Story:


A Piece of Chalk by Jennifer A. Kericsson


Craft:


Chalk Stenciled Pumpkins (I have not made this - must practice and then if need be edit the directions and type up directions for staff/parents etc.)


Here’s what you’ll need:



  • Black Card Stock (Or black construction paper, I used cardstock because it’s slightly darker)

  • White Cardstock

  • Orange Chalk or Sidewalk Chalk

  • Scissors

  • Painters Tape

  • Cotton Ball

  • Hairspray light mist

  • Printable Pumpkin Template - print on white cardstock


Directions:


Prep Work:

  • Download and print out pumpkin template on white cardstock

  • I used my craft knife to cut out the eyes and the mouth

  • After I cut the eyes and mouth out of my template, I used a pencil to lightly mark where the stencil pieces need to go on the black paper.


  • It’s easiest if the stencils are attached to the black paper so they don’t move around while you’re doing the chalk tracing. I used a few small pieces of painters tape.

  • Then using my pencil marks as a guide, I attached the face to the paper.


  • Trace around the outline of the stencil pieces with the chalk to make sure it’s all covered, and then draw short, straight lines away from the stencil like I’m showing in the picture below.


  • Take a cotton ball and gently rub the chalk away from the stencil to make it look like it’s glowing.


  • Next, add a few small pieces of painters tape to the back of the pumpkin template and line it up with the face beneath it.


  • Use the chalk to draw around the outline of the pumpkin, and then draw short, straight lines away from the stencil until you’ve gone around the entire outer edge of the pumpkin.


  • Use the cotton ball to gently rub the chalk away from the pumpkin.


  • Remove the stencil and blow off the chalk dust.


Note: If you want to keep the picture from smudging you can spray a light layer of hairspray over top. Just make sure you use an aerosol container with a very fine mist.




3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

コメント


bottom of page