top of page
Writer's pictureMrs. Deborah Fagnan

Gran Person In Your Life




This Family Storytime program can be used for those special celebrations such as Father's, Grandparents and Mother's day.


Have children listen to the story, My Heart is Like a Zoo by Michael Hall.


Interactive Song with Felt Board:


Felt Board: Hearts

(Melody from the nursery rhyme, "Bing Was His Name O")


There is a shape and it means Love

And heart is its name-o

H-E-A-R-T, H-E-A-R-T, H-E-A-R-T,

and heart is its name-o!


Note: To make it fun, use heart flannel pieces to help the kids keep track when to clap and when to say the letter. The template for the hearts can be found on the tool page.

I made a quick flannel with five hearts and the letters glued on to help the kids keep track of when to clap and when to say the letter. And using the heart shape led us straight to the next book, “My Heart is Like a Zoo” by Michael Hall.


Fingerplay:


Heart I put my hands together, This is how I start. I curve my fingers right around, And I can make a heart! Credit: MusicMakersForKids


Song


If You Want to Show Your Love (to the tune of "If Your're Happy and You Know It")


If you want to show your love, share a smile. If you want to show your love, share a smile. If you want to show your love, if you want to show your love, If you want to show your love, share a smile.

If you want to show your love, lend a hand. If you want to show your love, lend a hand. If you want to show your love, if you want to show your love, If you want to show your love, lend a hand.

If you want to show your love, use kind words. If you want to show your love, use kind words. If you want to show your love, if you want to show your love, If you want to show your love, use kind words.


Recommended books:

Love by Stacy McAnulty

Guess How Much I Love You by Sam McBratney

I love Mom: with the Very Hungry Caterpillar by Eric Carle

Love by Emma Dodd

That's Me Loving You by Amy Krouse Rosenthal

Dr. Seuss's I Love Pop: A Celebration of Dad's by Dr. Seuss

I Love You Dad by Maggie Testa

I Love You Just Like This! by Lillian Jaine

Always by Emma Dodd

I Love You by Dawn Sirett

I Love You to the Moon and Back by Amelia Hepworth

I Love My Grandma by Denise Burt

I Already Know I Love You by Billy Crystal


Owl Craft:

This craft was created by James. It is a cute owl that children can give to someone "grand" in their life.



Material:

  • Print (white cardstock) and cut out owl template found below photo. (Whooo loves you)

  • Fasteners (2)

  • Glue Stick

  • Scissors

  • Crayons

  • Hole Puncher












Instructions:

  • Print out template on cardstock

  • Cut out pieces

  • Paste eyes and nose on the body of the owl

  • Punch hole in top of each pink wing while a hole puncher

  • Punch hole in body of owl slightly below and to the right/or left of the owl's eyes

  • Fasten wings to body.

  • Optional: Decorate owl

  • Glue on "Guess Who Loves You" label

  • Optional: Glue picture of child on body of owl (hidden by wings)


 

Video Afternoon.


Activity: Set up video game in program room for children to play with their gran person. Cook hotdogs in crockpot and serve with chips.


This has been a very popular father's day program.












2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page